I Am – A 60 Day Journey to Knowing Who You Are Because of Who He Is

I Am: A 60-Day Journey to Knowing Who You Are Because of Who He IsI Am: A 60-Day Journey to Knowing Who You Are Because of Who He Is by Michele Cushatt

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

There is something very real about the testimonies that Michele shares in her book “I Am”, which is directly taken from Exodus 3:14 where God says to Moses, “I Am who I Am”, one of the most famous verses from the Old Testament. I Am is also the first two words in each one of the sixty entries offered up in this work.
The sixty days are broken into five themes: Creation, Exodus, Covenant, Presence and Rescue. Topics range from such things as I am loved, I am weak, I am blessed, I am called, I am saved. Each days topic starts off with a substantial introduction story that relays a truth for the day. That is followed by a quote from a well know and respected theologian or writer. The final piece in each days activities are the guided questions or prayer starters to help the reader explore the topic in a more personal manner.
I appreciated the very humanity that Michele shares in the personal stories, encouraging me to believe that Michele isn’t the perfect woman lecturing me on how to live, but rather she shared her frailties and struggles that, to coin a phrase, meant she was keeping it real. There are no dull pages to simply get through but each day is an encouragement to keep walking in faith towards being more like Jesus. Compassion and courage are both found here in spades. This book would make a wonderful daily devotional or could even be used by a group to study together.
This book is a winner.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

