Up the Seine Without a Paddle

Up the Seine Without a Paddle (The Travel Mishaps of Caity Shaw Book 2)Up the Seine Without a Paddle by Eliza Watson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I had really high hopes for this book; romance story I the City of Light? I’m an easy mark. Unfortunately this book just didn’t quite hit its target in me. The so-called romance fluttered between off and on and there was too much knowledge needed from the previous book in the series to make the second book something that could stand alone.
Caity Shaw apparently has a job that she is underqualified for as an Event Planner – how she got this job is explained in the first book, and she has a love hate relationship with her co-worker Declan who is apparently ‘hot’ and in between her job as the stand in nanny rather than event planning for her uber rich client she is researching something of her grandmothers past that threatens to tear Caity’s family apart.
Something that I did appreciate in this book was that it looked at the topic of domestic violence and the long term affects it has on a survivor. This was handled really well, as Caity’s moods and reactions swinging like a pendulum was very true to life.
This book has a lot of potential but doesn’t make the grade as a stand alone. I’m fairly certain that if I read the first book I would have a much more positive experience with this novel. Its quite easy to see this as an ongoing series that must be read in order to fully appreciate the storyline. Watson writes in an engaging manner and at times pulled off some good comedy with the main character. A great second book to read after the first, “Flying by the Seat of My Knickers.”

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

