The Girl on the Train

The Girl on the TrainThe Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

So its taken me a couple of years to get to this book, but I wanted to read it before I saw the movie and I’m glad I did.

Told through the eyes of three different characters (Rachel, Megan and Anna) this book is a web of stories that interlink in the most unexpected ways. Another feature is that you are told the story in morning and evening portions, but never is the whole situation ever made clear. Each of the narrators cannot be trusted as they cant or wont reveal the entirety of their story.

Although intellectually I know that none of the three characters are particularly likeable, I personally was able to identify with the struggles that Rachel had gone through that had lead to her becoming an alcoholic, so there was a certain sympathy whilst reading her and the emotions expressed by her over her infertility. It felt raw and real to me.

This book, in unexpected ways revolves around children and their place in the women’s lives.  Rachel, coping with infertility, Anna, a new mum trying to work out how to be a person in her own right as well as a mother and Megan, unexpectedly a grieving mother.

A relatively short read, it captures the confusion that major life changes create. This is a high paced novel after a somewhat slow and baffling start. Many people report that they were able to work out who the ‘villain’ was very early on; I was slower off the mark and didn’t feel certain until over halfway through the book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

