A Wrinkle in Time

A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic NovelA Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel by Hope Larson

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I think that this will be the last graphic novel I ever read. I was initially excited by the sheer size of this novel – 392 pages. Surely I would get a good opinion from this I thought. Surely this would change my opinion to a more positive light? Sadly I was wrong.

The artwork is too simplistic and the colour palette of black, white and blue simply didn’t allow the full wonder of this story to be revealed.

Meg came out looking angry in almost every cell. Charles-Wallace is not convincing and seriously, who cares about the other characters? See, right >there< is where the problem is. The other characters didn’t fair so well in this retelling and if you don’t care for the characters, why bother reading the book?

A lot of the dialogue remains true to the original but the artwork didn’t hold up its end of the bargain to tell the story. Expressions look the same no matter what they are proposed. The great battle between Meg and IT for the heart of Charles-Wallace was told in 11 cells; not much for a great battle at all. In all fairness, the Tesseract was succinctly show in two cells on page 139.

It just didn’t do it for me I’m afraid. Graphic novels are nothing more than glorified comic books and I wont be reading any more.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

