Leaving Time

Leaving TimeLeaving Time by Jodi Picoult

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the story of a little girl who wants to find her missing mother, pure and simple. This is a story about the relationships between mother and child, be they human or pachyderm.

Jenna Metcalfe has never stopped thinking about her mother Alice, an elephant researcher, since she disappeared ten years ago. And there’s nothing like a 13 year old for knowing everything and being brave enough to go out and hunt for it. Along the way she enlists two people to help her hunt for her mother. Serenity Jones, the once brilliant psychic who now doubts her abilities and Virgil Stanhope, and alcoholic ex copper turned P.I.

This story is part missing person, part murder mystery.

Alice goes missing the very night a catastrophe at the Elephant Shelter that she runs with her husband and three other people.

Jenna is supposedly a 13 year old and yet there are some things that fly out of her mouth that seem older in style and content which was problematic. I confess I am not comfortable with the idea of psychics and I don’t go out of my way to read about them, but Serenity is a washed up psychic with a heart of gold. Well, a desperate heart that longs to have her abilities back and Virgil is the original police officer who was involved with the catastrophic case from the start, and it has become the unsolved case that haunts him now.

This book has such an unexpected twist I confess my mouth dropped open and I was only good for catching flies! So OK, that probably means I’m a gullible reader, but the plot twist was wonderful.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

