La Mer Spa Day

LaMerSpa1_large

So I’m feeling all girlyfied and delightful. Hmmmm, is that even allowed if you are a mother?

I had a full on facial. Lying down in a fluffy towel wrap, dimmed lights, wave machine on in the background facial. Oh my goodness it was soooo nice and it’s been years since I’ve had a proper facial. I’m not sure why I don’t think to go and get them now days; I guess the guilt thing of thinking ‘I should do something for Bronwen rather than wasting money on myself’ comes into it. It’s one of the easiest parenting traps to fall into I find. We tend to forget about ourselves when we start raising children and that’s not a good thing.

Today the facial was using La Mer products. Oh la la! Nice stuff if you can afford it. A 29.5ml / 1oz jar of one moisturiser was $170+ and there were huge jugs of the moisturiser that cost thhhhhhousands of dollars. Can we all just gulp together? The sales ladies seriously tried for a few milliseconds to sell me a $350 package; all I can say is I wish. I really wish I had that kind of spending power right now as the products left me looking dewy and just perfect. I can say I liked the products enough to seriously consider saving up for them, one teeny tiny pot at a time as the sales ladies assured me that a little bit of product goes a long way!

I can’t tell you all the products they used on my face because I was lying down with my eyes closed enjoying the massages and attention and didn’t for a minute think to ask what she was using step by step. But I know they used serums and moisturisers and a couple of eye creams and I know she used the lip balm on me which at $55 is the cheapest product in the whole collection I’m sure.

I think having a facial on a semi-regular basis would be worthwhile for my skin and I can justify it as I’m getting older more mature and it’s time to take the anti-wrinkle fight seriously now. Don’t want to embarrass the child at the school pick up time after all.  I have to confess that I’ve never even looked for a salon for facials in Ottawa. Anyone got any suggestions as to where I should look?

My thanks to Nordstrom Ottawa for the wonderful day I had today.

Leave a Reply

