Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive

Talking of hair…

Were we talking of hair?

Hair appears to be a favourite topic of mine.

So I’m talking about hair now… I saw a friend who I haven’t seen in months (long before I started chemotherapy in fact) and she commented that she really preferred my super short hair compared to my long luxurious locks. It’s not the first time a person has commented that they like the pixie cut look on me, which I just find hard to fathom. How can people prefer the super short hair on me to my lovely long curly hair? Are they just being nice? Encourage the cancer girl  kind of thinking? I’m having such a hard time adjusting to having short hair, although when push comes to shove, I’ll take the pixie cut over the bald look any day of the week. But I just miss my long hair so much. I had hair past my shoulder blades before I started chemotherapy and now I’m excited because my hair has grown long enough to peep up between my fingers meaning that it’s about a centimetre (0.39 inches) long. When magazines talk about the kind of face that can carry off a pixie cut, it’s not ever my face shape that they ever talk about. I think I find it threatening that I don’t have my hair to hide behind any more. I can’t rely on swishing my hair and hiding my face. My face is all you can see now. It is front and centre. I think I should go out and buy a quality pair of long dangly earrings that I can wear on a continual basis to make the most of the short look that I’m sporting now. Elongate the face as they say. And make the most of the fact I can wear long dangly earrings without them getting caught in my hair (a pet hate) right now. Yes. I think that might be a plan.

You’ve got to accentuate the positive

Eliminate the negative

And latch on to the affirmative

Don’t mess with Mister In-Between

One thought on “Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive

  1. While your sporting the pixie cut… until you can decide if you want your long locks back or some other incarnation of hair happiness… play and have fun. Go get the danglies and dangle… while you’re at this juncture, stop and sit a spell. It’s going to pass before you know it. You will be writing about brushing through tangles… or… gasp! maybe it’ll come back straight as an arrow. Who knows? Meanwhile… what did you always dream of trying that your long hair didn’t allow? Whatever that is… do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

